Skip to main content

Breck School

Search form

You are here

Breck Alumni of Note

They’re leaders in science, the arts, athletics, medicine and government. They’re serving their country in the military. They’re teaching at some of the nation’s finest schools. Through the years, students have graduated from Breck prepared not only for higher education, but for life as well. 

Our notable alumni include the following:

Frank Mars 1901, creator of the Milky Way and other candy bars

Walter Bush  '47, former owner of the Minnesota North Stars, member of the United States Hockey Hall of Fame, and recipient of the Olympic Order

Richard Proudfit '49, founder of the nonprofit, Feed My Starving Children

Fletcher Driscoll, Ph.D. '51, notable hydrogeologist

Stanley Hubbard '51, Chairman and President, Hubbard Broadcasting

Bradford Parkinson '52, inventor of Global Positioning System (GPS) technology

Paul Johnson '53, gold medal Olympian and member of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame

Lee R. Anderson, Sr. '57, entrepreneur and Chairman/CEO, APi Group

Peter Rennebohm '62, author

Ralph Burnet '63, entrepreneur and Chairman/CEO, Coldwell Banker Burnet

Jim Pearson '67, coach for European opera vocalists

Hugh Roberts '69, retired EVP and President, International Commercial, Kraft Foods, Inc.

R.T. Rybak '74, former Mayor of Minneapolis

Alice Goodman '76, poet

Joel Bion '79, Senior Vice President, Cisco Product Resiliency Research

Christopher Murray, M.D. '80, physician and scientist

Spencer Reece '81, author and poet

Stacey Kohler Moran, Ph.D. '82, organizational psychologist

David Williams '83, Olympic athlete in Judo and NBC commentator, 2008 Summer Olympic Games

Wayne Wilderson '86, television actor and the purple grape in Fruit of the Loom ads

Mary “Sarah” Fangman '86, acclaimed oceanographer

Amy Wendel '86, independent film director

Mike Mattison '87, lead singer of the Derek Trucks Band and Scrapomatic

Erik Stolhanske '87, actor/comedian

Rob Melrose '88, Artistic Director and co-founder of San Francisco’s Cutting Ball Theater

Mankwe Ndosi '88, vocalist and Director of the Center for Independent Artists

Alec Soth '88, photographer

Craig Taborn '88, musician and composer

Craig Finn '89, frontman of the band The Hold Steady

Allison O'Toole '89, CEO, MNSure

Marisa Coughlan '92, actor

Majka Burhardt '94, author

Adam Herschman '94, actor

Patrick McGrann '94, founder of the nonprofit Kitegang

Michael Freiberg '95, Minnesota politician

Charles Korsmo ‘96, former actor and law professor

Kevin Cannon '98, cartoonist and author

Sara Marsh '98, actor and artistic director, Dark and Stormy Productions

Dominique Byrd '02, former NFL player

John Curry '02, former goaltender for the Pittsburgh Penguins and Minnesota Wild

Blake Wheeler, right wing for the Winnipeg Jets