Faculty & Staff Appreciation Day Awards

Each year, the Breck Parents Association sponsors Faculty/Staff Appreciation Day to thank Breck's faculty and staff for everything they do to help our children. It's a wonderful day with the PA providing breakfast and delivering notes of appreciation to everyone at Breck. 

We celebrate our own on Faculty/Staff Appreciation Day, too. During this morning's All-School Chapel, we gathered to honor our colleagues who have 10, 20, 30, and 40 years years of service. This year's 10-year awards (a book selected by their supervisor) were presented to Jeff Bregel, Julie Manrique, Jim Purvey, Norm Radtke, Sébastien Saunoi, and Jessica Wanless. Twenty-year chairs were presented to Silvia DelVillar, Lisa Heurung, Chris Ohm, Mark Ryks, Kim Schafer, and Jean Wang. Though we didn't have a 30-year colleague this year, we did celebrate Steve Berg for his incredible 40 years at Breck! Congratulations, everyone!

Next were the excellence in teaching awards. The Jean Wigley award is named after the late Jean Wigley, the grandmother of three Breck alumnae. The award is given in recognition of excellence in teaching and is presented to a faculty member each spring. This year's recipient is Lower School teacher Sara Thorne.

Breck Faculty Chair Awards are an honorary recognition of excellence in teaching, endowed by generous donors and held by teachers for a three-year term. Two Faculty Chair Awards are presented each year. This year, the Middle School Faculty Chair Award was awarded to Middle and Upper School Performing Arts Teacher David Birrow. And the Cloverfields Foundation Faculty Chair was awarded to Upper School Math Teacher Laura Berdine. 

The final award of the morning is the Ernest Campbell Award. The award, which is voted by faculty and staff for one of their own, recognizes “self-giving love for Breck.” The award is named for a beloved former Chaplain on Breck’s River Road campus. This year's recipient is Lower School Director Peg Bailey (not present), who is retiring after serving as Breck's Lower School Director for 24 years.

Congratulations to all of our honorees!

We've posted photos from today's Chapel on our Zenfolio gallery site.





More News