Eboo Patel to visit Breck for Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Stacy Glaus

Each year, Breck dedicates time to exploring the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. through an All-School Chapel and a variety of symposia gatherings. We are excited to announce that Eboo Patel will join us for this visit in all three divisions as well as our parent and alumni community. 

Our purpose in hosting Eboo Patel is to deepen our community’s understanding of MLK's legacy as well as explore our own mission as a school. King’s identity as a religious leader is central to his fierce commitment to nonviolent advocacy, as he so eloquently stated, “… in the quiet recesses of my heart, I am fundamentally a clergyman, a Baptist preacher” (King, 1965).

Like King, Patel believes that religion should be a bridge of cooperation rather than a barrier of division. He is inspired to build this bridge by his identity as an American Muslim navigating a highly religiously diverse social landscape. Patel is founder of Interfaith Youth Core, a national nonprofit that works toward an America where people of different faiths, worldviews, and traditions can bridge differences and find common values to build a shared life together. He is quoted as saying, “If everybody in the room that you’re in has the same definition of ‘justice’… it’s not a diverse room.”

Patel was named by US News & World Report as one of America’s Best Leaders of 2009, has served on President Obama’s Inaugural Faith Council and is the author of Acts of Faith, Sacred Ground, Interfaith Leadership and Out of Many Faiths. He holds a doctorate in the sociology of religion from Oxford University, where he studied on a Rhodes scholarship.

We are so pleased to welcome Eboo Patel to campus and look forward to deepening our understanding of MLK's legacy as a community. A planning committee is already working to prepare for the visit. If you have thoughts and ideas for hosting, contact Alexis Kent who will be chairing the committee.

Planning Committee 

Anna Anderson
Sahar Batmanghelidj
John Bellaimey
Cassidy Burns
Meg Carlsen
Stacy Glaus
Michael Goh
Rob Johnson '90
Alexis Kent
Sarah Kizilbash
Neeraj Mehta
Cathy Preissing
Piyumi Samaratunga
Paul Slack
Sarah Strong
Chris Thibodeaux

More News