Skip to main content

Breck School

Search form

You are here

Faculty Awards

Breck’s faculty is a talented group of dedicated professionals, many of whom have been honored by national and state organizations. In addition, the school recognizes excellence in a number of special programs:

Faculty Chairs

In 2004-05, the Breck faculty chair program was established to recognize excellence in teaching. Each year, Breck awards two faculty chairs, each for a term of three years. Made possible by the generosity of families who made major gifts to Breck, the Faculty Chair program gives outstanding faculty members funds to pursue a professional development project over the course of the three years they hold the chair.

Master Teachers

Teachers who are leaders are recognized as Master Teachers. For a complete list of Master Teachers since the designation was established, follow the link in the menu at left. Current faculty members who have received that honorary designation are Sarah Flotten ‘85, Tom Hegg, Lisa Hunninghake, Karen Pape and Alice Wright.

Jean Wigley Awards

The Jean Wigley Award was established in 2001-02 by Breck parents Michael and Barbara Wigley in memory of Mr. Wigley’s mother, Jean. Jean Wigley was known for her faith in God, her giving spirit and her strong belief in the goodness of people. She was a warm and caring woman who made the world a better place.