Skip to main content

Breck School

Breck School

Search form

You are here

Faculty and Staff awards presented at annual Staff Appreciation Day Chapel

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Head of School Dr. Natalia Hernández presented distinguished faculty awards as well as recognized faculty and staff milestone celebrations at this morning’s Staff Appreciation Day chapel. The Mustang Yearbook dedication was revealed at this morning's chapel, as well.

Awards included the Jean Wigley award, the Wallace and Mary Lee Dayton Family Faculty Chair, the Ralph and Peggy Burnet Family Faculty Chair, the Ernest Campbell award, as well as tenure awards for 10, 20, and 30 years of service.

Awardees included:

10 years of service

Tod Dungan
​Marcus Harris
Merrill Harris
Richard Hohertz
Kathy Jensen
Emily Jones '94
Stacy Moore
Michael Nelson
Katy Pearson
Mary Phelan (not pictured)
George Shannon
Les Steinberg

20 years of service

Bill Bahmuller
Peg Bailey
Debi Becker (not pictured)
Mary Jane Curran
Oscar Diaz
Mary Gentry
Barbara Hedensten
Lucy Lofquist
Kerry Marshall

30 years of service

Paul Blesi
Dave Kust
​Lori Merrill
Brad Peterson
Bobbie Tonkin

Yearbook Dedication: Athletic Trainer John LaRotonda (aka JTT)

Three additional awards were also presented during the chapel. The awards recognize the best in teaching and learning at Breck and celebrate the accomplishments of our outstanding faculty. Recipients included:

Jean Wigley Award: Middle School Academic Strategist Jay Rainville

Wallace and Mary Lee Dayton Family Faculty Chair: Upper School Science Instructor Brian Wright

Ralph and Peggy Burnet Family Faculty Chair: Performing Arts Department Head Sharon Mazion

Finally, the Ernest Campbell award was presented to a faculty member who has shown "self-giving love" to Breck. This person is voted upon by the faculty and staff in honor of one of their peers. 
Ernest Campbell Award: Health Center Coordinator Karen Kaverman

Yearbook editors Kiwi Sundeen and Alayna Simonds
revealed the Mustang Yearbook is dedicated
to John LaRotonda.

Jay Rainville (center), was awarded the Jean Wigley Award, pictured here with Head of School Dr. Natalia Hernández (left)
and Barbara Wigley (right).

10-Years of Service

20-Year Chair Recipients

30-Years of Service Award recipients receive a print
of a watercolor of Breck School created by beloved
art teacher Rosie Wells.

The Wallace and Mary Lee Dayton Family Faculty Chair Award
was presented to Brian Wright, pictured here
with his extended family.


The Ralph and Peggy Burnet Family Faculty Chair Award
was presented to Sharon Mazion, pictured with
Steph Burnet Ott '88 (left), family, and Dr. Natalia Hernández (right)

Ernest Campbell Award recipient
Karen Kaverman (left)
pictured with her family.