Skip to main content

Breck School

Breck School

Search form

You are here

Breck students receive STEM Communicator recognition

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Twenty-four students from Breck School’s Advanced Science Research were recognized by the Minnesota Academy of Science for their exceptional success in conducting scientific and mathematical research. They were awarded the 2018 Minnesota High School STEM Communicator Awards and will be published in Minnesota Academy of Science journal. You can read more about the program here.

Breck award winners:

Addison Gleekel & Melinda Samaratunga

David Ahrens, Cas Roland, & Christiana Wilke     

Cole Maxwell       

Nathan Tank & Dylan Vincent  

Catherine Pirtle & Lana Trautman        

Samuel Leville & Abigail Roh   

Louise Kim & Spencer Yueh    

Thomas Peterson & Kylie Spangler   

Samuel Aronson & Alex Cheng

Honorable mention recipients:

Aaron Bae 

Emma Carr 

Maya Czeneszew & Erica Iliarski     

Siyuan Ma & Alex Anderson

In 2013, MAS created this program focused on written communication skills among young scientists, technologists, engineers, and mathematicians through the generous funding of St. Jude Medical Foundation. The goal of the program is to identify and encourage high school students who show, in communicating their research through writing, an understanding of the societal context of their research and results.

According to MAS, “the Minnesota High School STEM Communicator Awards is a statewide competition. The selection process will identify students having:

  • A substantive base of scientific knowledge exceeding usual high school science requirements,
  • A record of effective use of scientific methods to advance research in a chosen area of science or mathematics, with demonstrated skills of clear and concise data analysis,
  • An ability to think critically, to synthesize information, and to argue the merits of conclusions, and
  • A record of personal growth as well as recognition of how their research has an impact upon others.”